Wet-in-Wet Figures

wet-in-wet-watercolor-figure-drawing-marc-taro-holmes-4

A few weeks back I’d been sketching at the UQAM intensif. Maybe you remember me saying I felt those paintings were ‘over drawn’? Relying too much on the pencil line.

The other day I dropped into an afternoon session at the CCGV, and this time – left the damned pencil at home! It’s the only way to break myself of my drawing :)

Or, more honestly – to make myself draw with the brush, rather than the line.

wet-in-wet-watercolor-figure-drawing-marc-taro-holmes-1

This was a different model, and shorter poses – but just look at how interesting the washes are, (above) as compared to when you’re tinting a pencil drawing. (below).

B_Scan_Round Two026_A

wet-in-wet-watercolor-figure-drawing-marc-taro-holmes-3

wet-in-wet-watercolor-figure-drawing-marc-taro-holmes-2

I was also determined to work faster, and wetter. These two are the same pose. Instead of using all my time striving for perfection, I went back to the art school approach, and did multiple sketches, trying to get as many as possible in the available time.

wet-in-wet-watercolor-figure-drawing-marc-taro-holmes-6

The other advantage of working two (or three) at once – you can just keep moving. While the paint is wet on one – skip to the other. Here’s a pose and a re-take on the head. I was trying for a better likeness – but also a more interesting figure/ground.

wet-in-wet-watercolor-figure-drawing-marc-taro-holmes-5

So, that’s the way it goes with this strange pursuit of watercolor painting. Back and forth between direct brushwork and more precise drawings, continually looking for incremental improvement :)

5 thoughts on “Wet-in-Wet Figures

  1. Every time I see one of your posts I smile remembering the days we drew together. It’s amazing how life’s opportunities allow us to criss cross paths, while we traverse geography settling down in new places to work.

Leave a Reply

