Syn Studio Classwork: Demo Two: Cast Drawing

Second project for the watercolor class at Syn Studio was this cast drawing subject. A small statue of Ganesha. The goal here was a classic demonstration of Tea, Milk, Honey – my phrase that encapsulates a working method which is simultaneously Larger-to-Smaller, Fluid-to-Gel, Wet-to-Dry, Lighter-to-Darker.

Ganesha_Process_07

Here’s the progress steps. Drawing>Tea>Milk> and then Honey (above).

Ganesha_Process_04 Ganesha_Process_05 Ganesha_Process_06 Ganesha_Process_07

Key thing to remember: Work Wet on Dry: Each pass must be bone dry before the next. This allows you precise control over what edges are hard and what are soft.

Note how color in the first pass is super arbitrary. Just have fun with Pouring the Tea. Then you can draw in shadows with Milk, and re-enforce only the darkest dark cast ‘contact’ shadows with the final Honey pass.

Since this one we’ve done another day on still life subjects, and are graduating to working with the model. This promises to be a lot of fun, introducing people to life drawing with watercolor!

13 thoughts on “Syn Studio Classwork: Demo Two: Cast Drawing

  1. Hi Marc Taro, I’m a Swiss art fan and totally love your drawings, they’re so unique and fresh. I also find your tutorials very helpful. Thank you for your inspiration! One question: The “tea”, is this always wet on wet?

    1. Hey Mo. Thanks for the chocolate Switzerland! So the answer is, kind of Wet-in-Wet. For me the important matter is where are the wet/dry edges. The paper starts dry, and you wet only what you want to work on. So in this case the silhouette of the sculpture is wet, but the white background is dry. The wet/dry edge is a fire break. Water goes crazy in the wet zone, melts, blurs, back-washes, does whatever – but stops immediately at the dry edge. It’s a great way to keep control.

  2. I am trying this, new to watercolor, old acrylic gal, hard to make the shift. All new rules. I love this lesson and will post my hoitoi buddha on dkatiepowellart if it works at all! Kate

  3. Reblogged this on D.Katie Powell Art and commented:
    Marc Taro Holmes is my inspiration on trying to get this watercolor thang down to my liking. Here is his “famous” “Tea, Milk, Honey” demo. He shows us this in several ways on his blog, but being a Ganesha fan I had to share this one. Tomorrow, I will share my Garuda images.

      1. For sure :) I *think* I could learn to write by applying what I’ve learned learning drawing. Hah – unless that sentance there is proof otherwise.

Leave a Reply

