Shibari

If you’re follower of this blog – you know I’m always in search of compelling subject matter.  It’s becoming my personal mission to put myself inside experiences worthy of drawing.

Having been a video game artist for years, my work has usually been some kind of fantasy or science fiction. I mean – that’s where you need artists right? To draw the things that don’t exist in reality. These days I find I’d rather be spending time on real experiences. But my tastes haven’t changed :) Why not make your real life as intriguing as possible?

So – this brings us to a little side project. I’ve started drawing in collaboration with a fairly well known Montreal shibari artist, Goddess Mai.  

(Shibari; japanese for ‘tying’, is the art of manipulating ropes and knots. When practiced on people, it’s often associated with what we’d call bondage – which would be kinbaku in Japanese). As a figurative artist, I find it tremendously fascinating.

We’re starting fairly simple – just a sort of a gesture drawing thing, where she does her rope work, and I’m simultaneously sketching. It’ll be interesting to see where this goes. Here’s some first impressions.

3 thoughts on “Shibari

Leave a Reply

