Oil Sketch

dark painting…sorry for the bad photo…halfway through this one I really thought I wasn’t going anywhere. But some judicious blurring-the-hell-out-of-it with a big poofy badger gave me a vague underpainting I could go back into. I read somewhere on line that Sargent said, “start with the darks”….which I’m a big fan of – makes it more like drawing with the brush. A minor neat thing on this painting is the concept of Shape Welding – simplifying and fusing her fingers into her collar…that’s a tip courtesy of James Gurney.

4 thoughts on “Oil Sketch

  1. Gurney’s blog is awesome – I love reading it and I’m always happy to see someone reference it. Rubbing out and repainting is a good recovery technique I’ve only recently discovered. the whole idea of scraping off or wiping down a painting is so easy with oils, but so alien to me because I started primarily as a pen and ink artist. It’s one of the many things I’ve yet to adjust to about oils. Craig Mullins has a great document of various Sargent quotes and notes <a href=”http://www.goodbrush.com/misc/painting_lessons/lessons.htm” title=”here”, by the way, if you haven’t already seen them.

Leave a Reply

