quarantine=dramamine

Just back from not seeing most of Quarantine. (American remake of the Spanish language [REC]).

I have a soft underbelly for zombie flicks. I really wanted to like this film. I was prepared to give it a lot of slack – willing to see a carbon-copy remake, ready for the Cloverfield gimmick, even ok with another rampaging, blood-crazed four year old….sadly – the hand held camera defeated me.

Literally made me sick. Nausea, dizziness, sweating. I honestly couldn’t watch the bulk of the film. To bad really – it seemed well crafted. Anyone else have a physical reaction to the film? I’m not usually bothered by shaky cam – I even liked the second Bourne movie.  Hopefully I’ll get a chance to see the original…

Meanwhile, here’s a zombie, drawn for something entirely different, but nonetheless appropriate…

2 thoughts on “quarantine=dramamine

  1. I didn’t have that reaction. As to the film, having never seen the original I could only rate it on it’s own merits. It wasn’t bad, but I’ve grown tired of the no one gets out alive endings. Now I think I want my heroes to win every once in a while.

    By the way I’ve been following your blog for a little while and I love your work.

Leave a Reply

