Skip to content

Dr Sketchy does Labyrinth

October 20, 2013

DrSketchy_Labyrinth003x

Dr. Sketchy Montreal did a homage to Brian Froud’s Labyrinth this afternoon. Our model Safa graciously channeled the Goblin King Jareth. I’m sure Bowie would have gone topless if it had been allowed in 1986.

DrSketchy_Labyrinth002x

DrSketchy_Labyrinth001x

These are experiments in drawing directly with an Extra Fine Lamy Safari, and a Kuretake Brush Pen. (Which I had seen in people kits, but not really recognized as superior until this review by fellow USK’er Kalina of Geminica.com). Both of these cartridge fed pens are water soluble (if you use the name brand refills). I had a couple of small vials of Alizarin and Cerulean stained water which I used to melt the black line. The addition of the Kuretake really adds to the effect. Previously I’ve done this with a Lamy Joy calligraphy pen – but it has a massive 1.9 mm nib, which makes the water-melting-line part very dangerous business indeed. I still love my old Pentel Pocket Brush for dark accents, but it’s water-proof, so it can’t be used in tandem with the Lamy in the way the Kuretake can. Tho’ the Pentel is half the cost. So – I’m not revoking my Pentel Pocket Brush recommendations, but you might want to pick up a Kuretake as well!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Diego permalink
    October 20, 2013 7:39 am

    just refill a empty the pentel cartage with a your ink of choice using a syringe

  2. October 20, 2013 9:27 am

    I would give that a try *if* I could find a bottled ink that was water soluble! Tried versions from my local shop that claim they are – and yet, are not. I think to calligraphers and fountain pen ‘water soluble’ means ‘clean your pen with water’. This isn’t quite the same as ‘melt your lines with water’ :) Anyone got a good recommendation?

  3. October 20, 2013 2:58 pm

    Doesn’t India Ink work for this?

  4. October 20, 2013 8:30 pm

    Nope, India ink is shellac based, it dries waterproof. I’ll give the Parker a try – then I could use dip nibs, which is a lot of fun.

  5. October 21, 2013 1:14 am

    I’ll order a bottle or two from them (Private Reserve) and give it try.

Trackbacks

  1. Water-Soluble sketching with Private Reserve Inks | Tarosan
  2. Water-Soluble sketching with Private Reserve Inks | Citizen Sketcher
  3. Example Duplicate Blog post for Marc Taro Holmes | SynStudio
  4. line and wash experiments | kestrelart

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 210 other followers

